EMG in London

EMG Test at Lanserhof at The Arts Club in London

The EMG test (electromyography) is used to measure your muscle activity at rest and during movements. This allows us to detect muscle and nerve diseases and damages. At our department in London, we use EMG after injuries and during rehabilitation in order to monitor and measure the postural apparatus and the musculoskeletal system. Based on their findings, our therapists develop a targeted training plan that helps restore the muscle activity in the injured areas and reduces the rehabilitation time. An EMG test also allows our therapists to make predictions about the healing process.

Procedure of the Electromyography Test

To measure its activity, our therapists attach electrodes to the muscle. All electrical signals generated by the muscle are measured and graphically displayed. For one thing, the muscle’s spontaneous activity is measured: Healthy muscles that are at rest record no activity. If muscles send electrical signals even though they are relaxed, there is an underlying health problem that needs to be investigated further. The electrodes also measure the arbitrary activity, i.e. the activity potential of tense muscles.

The EMG test usually takes only a few minutes. However, we also offer more comprehensive examinations that can take several hours.

What can be detected during an electromyography:

  • Muscle diseases and injuries
  • Diseases and damages of nerve cells
  • Disc hernia (herniated disc)

Training with EMG

At our location in London, the EMG test is an important part of our patients’ rehabilitation training. During the training, EMG compares the right side’s muscle activity to the left side’s activity. This means that the injured area, usually muscles, tendons and ligaments, is compared to the other, non-injured side. The visual analyses enable the patient to consciously increase the intramuscular tension during personalised training sessions. The ultimate goal is to restore the injured area and improve its muscle activity, so it can perform just like the non-injured side.

If you have any questions about the electromyography test at Lanserhof at The Arts Club in London, please contact us:
e.: lanserhof@theartsclub.co.uk
t.: +44 (0)20 3967 6969

EMG-Messung in London

EMG-Messung im Lanserhof at The Arts Club in London

Die EMG-Messung (Elektromyographie) dient der Messung der Muskelaktivität im Ruhezustand und während Bewegungen. Dadurch können Muskel- und Nervenerkrankungen sowie Schädigungen festgestellt und überprüft werden. So kommt die EMG-Messung zum Beispiel in der Rehabilitationsphase zum Einsatz, um Verletzungen des Haltungs- und Bewegungsapparates zu kontrollieren und zu messen. Basierend darauf können unsere Therapeuten ein gezieltes Fitnesstraining entwickeln, um die Muskelaktivität der verletzten Bereiche wiederherzustellen und die Rehabilitationszeit zu verkürzen. Anhand der Erkenntnisse aus der EMG-Untersuchung können unsere Therapeuten auch Prognosen über den Heilungsverlauf aufstellen.

Ablauf der EMG-Messung am Standort London

Um die Muskelaktivität zu messen, werden Elektroden an den Muskel angebracht. Darüber werden die vom Muskel selbst erzeugten elektrischen Signale gemessen und graphisch in Form von Spannungskurven dargestellt. Gemessen wird dazu die Spontanaktivität: Im Ruhezustand sollte ein Muskel keine Aktion zeigen, ist dies der Fall, deutet das auf eine Erkrankung hin. Auch die Willküraktivität, also Aktionspotenziale angespannter Muskeln, wird aufgezeichnet.

Die EMG-Messung dauert in der Regel nur wenige Minuten. Es gibt allerdings auch umfassendere Untersuchung, die mehrere Stunden in Anspruch nehmen.

Indikationen einer Elektromyographie sind zum Beispiel:

  • Muskelerkrankungen und -schädigungen
  • Erkrankungen und Schädigungen von Nervenzellen
  • Diskushernie (Bandscheibenvorfall)

Einsatz von EMG-Tests im Training

An unserem Standort in London begleiten wir das Training zahlreicher Reha-Patienten mit Hilfe einer EMG-Messung. Während des Trainings stellt die EMG die Muskelaktivität im rechts / links Vergleich graphisch dar. Das bedeutet: Der verletzte Bereich, in der Regel Muskeln, Sehnen und Bänder, wird mit der anderen, gesunden Seite verglichen. Für den Patienten wird dieser Seitenvergleich sichtbar und ermöglicht eine visuelle Kontrolle, während er die Spannung im verletzten Bereich intramuskulär bewusst erhöht. Ziel ist es, die verletzte Seite wieder auf den Leistungsstand der nichtverletzten Seite zu bringen. Gezieltes Training der betroffenen Muskelpartien kann deren Aktivität erheblich verbessern.

Wenn Sie Fragen zur EMG-Messung im Lanserhof at The Arts Club in London haben, kontaktieren Sie uns gerne:
e.: lanserhof@theartsclub.co.uk
t.: +44 (0)20 3967 6969